#### How much is the license fee?

License applicants (excluding initial license applicants, animal rescues and licensees not housing dogs or cats) shall pay a fee based on the daily average number of dogs or cats housed by the licensee over the previous annual licensure period as follows:

| Number of Dogs or Cats             | Annual License Fee |
|------------------------------------|--------------------|
| 10 or fewer                        | \$175              |
| 11-50                              | \$225              |
| 51-100                             | \$275              |
| 101-150                            | \$325              |
| 151-200                            | \$375              |
| 201-250                            | \$425              |
| 251-300                            | \$475              |
| 301-350                            | \$525              |
| 351-400                            | \$575              |
| 401-450                            | \$625              |
| 451-500                            | \$675              |
| More than 500                      | \$2,100            |
| Initial license applicants         | \$125              |
| Animal Rescue                      | \$150              |
| Licensees not housing dogs or cats | \$150              |

Annual fees must be paid and contact information updated by March 31 each year for commercial breeders, dealers, boarding kennels and pet shops. Animal control, animal shelter and animal rescue annual fees must be paid and contact information updated by September 30 of each year. In addition, a \$2 per dog fee will be assessed for commercial breeders, dealers, pet shops and boarding kennels. Refer to §54-627(f) for specific information.

Failure to renew a license prior to the expiration of the license shall result in a late renewal fee equal to 20 percent of the annual license fee due and payable each month, not to exceed 100 percent of such fee in addition to the license fee. If deemed necessary under the Act, or any rule or regulation adopted and promulgated pursuant to the Act, the Department may, for purposes of inspection, enter the premises of any applicant or licensee during normal business hours and in a reasonable manner, including all premises in or upon which dogs or cats are housed, sold, exchanged or leased, or are suspected of being housed, sold, exchanged or leased.

This brochure is available upon request in other formats for persons with disabilities. For an alternate format or for additional information on topics in this publication, please call the Nebraska Department of Agriculture at 402-471-2351.

TDD users can contact the Department by first calling the Nebraska Relay System. Telephone 800-833-7352 and asking the operator to call 402-471-2351.

This brochure is only a summary of Nebraska Revised Statutes §§54-625 to 54-643, the Nebraska Commercial Dog and Cat Operator Inspection Act. Please refer to the law and applicable regulations for additional details.

#### Nebraska Department of Agriculture Animal and Plant Health Protection

301 Centennial Mall South P. O. Box 94787 Lincoln, NE 68509-4787

Phone: 402-471-6832 or 402-471-2351 Fax: (402) 471-6893 Website: nda.nebraska.gov

# Commercial Dog & Cat Operator Inspection Act

2018



DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

#### Who needs to be licensed?

ANY Animal Control Facility, Animal Rescue, Animal Shelter, Boarding Kennel, Commercial Dog Breeder, Commercial Cat Breeder, Dealer and Pet Shop.

# What qualifies as an Animal Control Facility?

Animal Control Facility means a facility operated by or under contract with the state or any political subdivision of the state for the purpose of impounding or harboring seized, stray, homeless, abandoned or unwanted animals.

### What qualifies as an Animal Rescue?

Animal Rescue means a person or group of persons who hold themselves out as an animal rescue, accept or solicit dogs or cats with the intention of finding permanent adoptive homes, or provide lifelong care for such dogs or cats, or who use foster homes as the primary means of housing dogs or cats.

### What qualifies as an Animal Shelter?

An Animal Shelter is any facility used to house or contain dogs or cats that is owned, operated, or maintained by an incorporated humane society, animal welfare society, society for the prevention of cruelty to animals, or another nonprofit organization devoted to the welfare, protection and humane treatment of such animals.

## What qualifies as a Boarding Kennel?

Boarding Kennel means a facility which is primarily used to house or contain dogs or cats owned by persons other than the operator of such a facility. The primary function of a boarding kennel is to temporarily harbor dogs or cats when the owner of the dogs or cats is unable to do so, or to provide training, grooming or other non-veterinary service for consideration before returning the dogs or cats to their owners. A facility which provides such training, grooming or other non-veterinary service is not a boarding kennel for the purposes of the Act, unless dogs or cats owned by persons other than the operator of such facilities are housed overnight. Veterinary clinics, animal control facilities, animal rescues and nonprofit animal shelters are not boarding kennels for the purposes of the Act.

# What qualifies as a Commercial Dog or Commercial Cat Breeder?

- A person who sells, exchanges, leases or in any way transfers or offers to sell, exchange, lease or transfer 31 or more dogs or cats in a 12-month period beginning on April 1 of each year; or
- A person who owns or harbors four or more dogs or cats, intended for breeding, in a 12-month period beginning on April 1 of each year; or
- A person whose dogs or cats produce a total of four or more litters within a 12-month period beginning on April 1 of each year; or
- A person who knowingly sells, exchanges or leases dogs or cats for later retail sale or brokered trading.

## What qualifies as a **Dealer**?

Dealer means any person who is not a commercial dog or cat breeder or a pet shop but is engaged in the business of buying for resale or selling or exchanging dogs or cats as a principal agent or who claims to be so engaged. A person who purchases, sells, exchanges or leases 30 or fewer dogs or cats in a 12-month period is not a dealer.

# What qualifies as a Pet Shop?

Pet Shop means a retail establishment which sells pet animals and related supplies.

# Is an inspection required to obtain a license?

- A qualifying inspection is required for all initial license applicants prior to a license being issued.
- All licensees shall be inspected at least once in a 24-month period.
- The Department may conduct additional inspections to ensure that the licensee continues to meet state requirements for licensing.
- The Department has established, by regulations, a priority order for conducting inspections.

# Who do I contact for questions, applications and other information?

Nebraska Department of Agriculture Animal and Plant Health Protection P. O. Box 94787 Lincoln, NE 68509-4787

### Phone: 402-471-6832 or 402-471-2351 Fax: (402) 471-6893 Website: nda.nebraska.gov

The Legislature has determined that the Nebraska Department of Agriculture shall establish an inspection program for applicants and licensees to determine whether the requirements of the Commercial Dog and Cat Operator Inspection Act are being met.

When an inspection produces evidence of a violation of the Act or regulations, a copy of the written report listing the violations and the time limit in which to correct the violations will be given to the applicant or licensee.