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Instructions for Cultivator License Applicants 

The Nebraska Department of Agriculture (NDA) is now accepting applications for 2023 hemp cultivator 

licenses. The information contained within this packet will assist you in submitting a complete application for 

the cultivation of hemp in 2023. In order to qualify for a cultivator license, you must submit a complete 

application, including all of the required attachments, along with a check, money order, or credit card 

information for the $150 nonrefundable application fee and $600 per site listed on the application to NDA. If 

you have any questions about your 2023 Hemp Cultivator License Application, please call 402-471-2351 

prior to submission. 

Contents of Application Guidance 

• Instructions for application submission 

• Fee Schedule 

• Glossary of terms relating to the Nebraska Hemp Farming Act 

• Guidance on obtaining an FBI Identity History Summary Check 

• Instructions for creating relevant maps and GPS coordinates 

Application Timeline 

Due to limited staff please allow at least one week before inquiring about the status of your submitted 

application. We will review applications in the order that they are received. NDA recommends using a 

delivery option with tracking capabilities for mailed applications. NDA is not responsible for applications lost in 

the mail or not received. Emailed applications will not be accepted. 

Complete Applications 

Prior to submission, make sure your application is complete, including all required attachments. Please, do 

not submit the guidelines or instructions with your application. If an application is incomplete, NDA will 

request additional information via the email provided on the application form. The applicant will then have 30 

days to submit a revised application. If corrections are not made within 30 days, the application will be denied 

and the $150 application fee will be forfeit. Keep in mind, applications requiring revision will be reconsidered 

after all applications ahead of them are reviewed. 

Fee Schedule 

• Application fee: $150 nonrefundable, due at time of application. 

• Cultivator site registration fee 

o $600 per site due at time of application 

• Site modification fee 

o $75 due upon approval of site modification 

o Additional site registration fees due if you are adding a site rather than modifying an existing 

site (see Site Modification Request Form and Site Addition Request Form) 

• Delinquent fees for renewals will be assessed at 25% of the base fee rate per month on or after: 

o February 1; delinquent fee is $187.50 

o March 1; delinquent fee is $375 

o April 1; delinquent fee is $562.50 

o May 1; delinquent fee is $750 
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https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
https://nda.nebraska.gov/hemp/SiteModificationRequest.pdf
https://nda.nebraska.gov/hemp/SiteAdditionRequest.pdf
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Glossary of Terms 

A full list of legal definitions can be found in the Nebraska Hemp Farming Act. 

Cultivate or cultivating means planting, watering, growing, and harvesting a hemp plant or crop. The 

presence of plants of the plant Cannabis sativa L. growing as uncultivated, naturalized plants in the 

environment is not cultivating hemp for the purposes of the Nebraska Hemp Farming Act. 

Hemp means the plant Cannabis sativa L. and any part of such plant, including the viable seeds of such plant 

and all derivatives, extracts, cannabinoids, isomers, acids, salts, and salts of isomers, whether growing or 

not, with a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of not more than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis. 

Hemp shall be considered an agricultural commodity. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, hemp shall 

not be considered a controlled substance under the Uniform Controlled Substances Act. 

Key participant is a person or persons who have a direct or indirect financial interest in the entity producing 

hemp, such as an owner or partner in a partnership. A key participant also includes persons in a corporate 

entity at executive levels including chief executive officer, chief operating officer and chief financial officer. 

This does not include such management as farm, field or shift managers. 

Location ID means the unique identifier established by a licensee for each unique set of GPS coordinates 

where hemp is cultivated, handled, or processed. 

Note: The applicant designates a Location ID for each field, building, greenhouse, etc. within a 

site. Keep it simple, yet descriptive. A site number and location ID will be used to identify 

specific areas for sampling and will be tied to the lot numbers issued by the Farm Service 

Agency (FSA). Examples include: “East Greenhouse”, “South Field”, “Drying Building 1”, etc. 

Lot means a contiguous area in a field, greenhouse, or indoor growing structure containing the same variety 

or strain of hemp throughout the area.  

Process or processing means converting hemp plants or plant parts into a marketable form.   

Site means an area defined by the same legal description in a field, greenhouse, or other outdoor area or 

indoor structure, or for a mobile processor, such processor’s primary place of business. 

Instructions for Obtaining an FBI Identity History Summary Check 

A copy of the FBI Identity History Summary Check for the applicant and all key participants (see definition 

above) must be included with the application. No felony drug convictions in the last 10 years allowed. The 

FBI Identity History Summary Check must be completed within 60 days of the application submission. No 

applications will be approved until NDA receives an Identity History Summary Check for each key participant 

listed on the application. Please refer to the FBI website for instructions on obtaining your Identity History 

Summary Check. NDA recommends choosing Option 1 or Option 3 under “How to Submit a Request” to 

avoid significant delay in obtaining your FBI Identity History Summary Check. 

Instructions for Creating Maps and Obtaining GPS Coordinates for Submission with the 

Application 

The following instructions outline required site map contents and basic instructions for obtaining a map. You 

are required to provide to NDA a photographic aerial map of all growing, handling, and storage locations. 

This requirement applies to all applicants and license holders and will assist with NDA’s reporting to law 

enforcement and the USDA.  

Each map should be in color and contain the following: 

• Only one site (defined by a single legal description) per map. 

• The applicant’s full name printed on the page.  

https://nda.nebraska.gov/regulations/plant/NebraskaHempFarmingAct.pdf
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
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• Site number in top right hand corner (corresponds to number listed on application form). 

• The map location’s street address, city, state and zip code printed on the page. List the nearest 

intersection if no address is assigned. 

• “E” marking the primary farm/site entrance on the map. “E2” marking any secondary entrances.  

• Zoom out to show the site location, a public roadway, and the road name.  

• Field location. This includes the: 

o Outline of each separate field, building or greenhouse; and 

o Location ID for each separate field, building, or greenhouse;  

Note: Any field division (fence line, tree line, road, creek, etc.) shall be seen as two or more 

separate fields and require separate location IDs. 

• GPS coordinates for each field or building. GPS coordinates should be provided in DECIMAL 

DEGREES (example: 40.820607, -96.705626 OR N 40.820607, W 96.705626) with a pinpoint 

showing where the GPS coordinate was taken. There should always be 6 digits after the decimal. 

o The simplest way to get accurate coordinates is to zoom in on the location in Google Maps, 

click on the center of the field, building, or greenhouse, and then the coordinates will appear in 

the bottom of the page(see image below). 

 

Mapping options include, but are not limited to:  

• Google Maps online at http://maps.google.com/. When you have the address on your screen, you can 

click the button in the lower left corner that says “Earth” or “satellite” for an aerial view of the location.  

• On MapQuest at http://www.mapquest.com/. Locate the address on your screen, then click in the 

upper right corner “Satellite” for an aerial view of the location.  

• Using the County Assessor search at https://revenue.nebraska.gov/PAD/county-assessors-and-

parcel-search. Find your county, search by address, and select the “Aerial View”. 

If you are unable to use a computer program (Google Earth, Paint, Word, etc.) to draw boundaries or add 

information, print out the map (in color) when you are satisfied with the level of zoom, then finish it by 

handwriting the required information. 

Farms Service Agency (FSA) Information Release 

Applicants must complete the “Information Release Request” form that is included as page 6 of the 

application. This will allow NDA to verify that all hemp plantings have been appropriately reported to the FSA. 

The only document that NDA will request access to is the FSA-578 which has been pre-selected on the form 

included with the application. 

 

 

https://www.google.com/maps/
http://maps.google.com/
http://www.mapquest.com/
https://revenue.nebraska.gov/PAD/county-assessors-and-parcel-search
https://revenue.nebraska.gov/PAD/county-assessors-and-parcel-search
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Timeline of Events 

Event Detail 

Apply for license At least 30 days prior to anticipated planting date  

Plant hemp crop After cultivator license is received by mail 

Certify hemp crop acreage to 
USDA Farm Service Agency 
(FSA) 

Must include street address and geospatial information for each 
variety as well as a copy of your Hemp Cultivator License. Make 
sure to report each variety separately. This process takes time, 
so start working with your local FSA as soon as possible and 
provide all of the documentation they require. You can find your 
local FSA at: offices.sc.egov.usda.gov/locator/app 

Submit Post-Planting Site 
Report to NDA within 10 
days of receiving lot 
number(s) 

Use the Farm, Tract, and Field/Subfield numbers issued by FSA to 
fill out the Post-Planting Site Report. If a lot tests out of 
compliance and is not clearly defined and visibly identifiable on 
site, all lots within the site registration may be subject to 
destruction. 

Random NDA site inspection May occur at any time. Inspections may include record audits, site 
inspections, sampling, and testing. 

Submit Harvest Notification 
Report 30 days prior to 
harvest 

30 days prior to anticipated harvest date to allow time to schedule 
sampling within required 15-day window 

Pre-harvest inspection and 
sampling 

No more than 15 days before harvest 

Total THC testing by 
approved testing facility 

Samples collected during the pre-harvest inspection will be tested 
for total THC content on a dry weight basis. Cultivator may harvest 
after NDA takes a sample, but no lots may be commingled or 
moved off a   site until certificate of analysis is received showing 
compliance with .3% THC concentration threshold. 

Certificate of analysis and lot 
release 

Lab will send certificate of analysis (COA) to NDA. NDA will 
release the COA to the cultivator once the sampling and testing 
fees are paid. The COA will indicate whether the sample passed 
or failed. If the COA indicates the sample passed, the lot 
associated with that sample is cleared for commerce. Keep a copy 
of the COA with the lot during transport and sale. 

 


