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Pesticide Record Keeping Requirements in Nebraska 
 

Updated February 2021 
 

Restricted-use pesticide record keeping is required by both state and federal pesticide 
regulations. Nebraska regulations adopt the existing federal requirements with few modifications. 
By meeting the state pesticide applicator and dealer record keeping requirements, all federal 
record keeping requirements will be met. 
 
For questions regarding pesticide record keeping requirements, call the Nebraska Department of 
Agriculture’s Pesticide Program at 402-471-2351. 

 
 
Private Applicator Restricted-Use Pesticide (RUP) Record Keeping Requirements 
When using RUPs, you must record the following information within 14 days of the application and keep the 
record for a minimum of three years. 

A. The brand or product name and the EPA registration number of the pesticide applied. 
B. The total amount of pesticide applied. 
C. The location of the application, size of the area treated, and the crop, commodity, stored product or 

site to which the pesticide was applied. A separate record of application is required to be made for 
each unique location. The location of the application may be recorded using any of the following 
designations: 

1. County, range, township and section. 
2. Maps and/or written description which accurately identify the location, such global positioning 

system locators. 
3. An identification system used by USDA. 
4. The legal property description. 

D. Date of the application. (month, day, year). A separate record of application is required for each 
unique date of application. 

E. The name and certification number of the applicator who made or supervised the application. 
F. If the applications of the RUP made on the same day cover a total of less than 1/10 of an acre, note it 

as a “spot application,” followed by a concise description of the location. (Example - spot application, 
musk thistle in north pasture.) 

 
 
Commercial/Noncommercial Record Keeping Requirements 
Record keeping for commercial/noncommercial RUP products is required, as are record keeping for general 
use pesticides applied to structural sites. All such information must be recorded within 48 hours of the 
pesticide application. Records must be kept for a minimum of three years following the application. These 
records must kept and maintained at the principal place of business. The information shall include the 
following: 

A. Name and address of the person for whom the pesticide was applied. 
B. Name and certified applicator number of the person making the application. When a noncertified 

person makes the application, include both the noncertified and supervising licensed applicator 
information. 
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C. Location of the pesticide application. See private applicator records section for details. 
D. The site, crop, commodity or stored product of the application (such as soil, turf, wood, etc.). 
E. Date of the application. A separate record of application is required for each unique date of application 

even if the site is the same on both days. 
F. Initial starting time of the application. 
G. Trade name and EPA registration number of the pesticide applied. 
H. Total amount of pesticide applied to the site. 
I. Size of treated area (i.e. acres, square feet, linear feet, crack-and-crevice, bait/trap placement, etc.). 

 
 
Pesticide Dealer Record Keeping Requirements 
Businesses that distribute RUPs in Nebraska are required to record the transaction within two business days 
and keep a record of the transaction for a period of 36 months. These specific record keeping requirements 
include: 

A. Name and address of the person to whom the RUP is made available. No dealers may make a RUP 
available to any uncertified person, unless they can document that the RUP was distributed to another 
licensed dealer or will be used by a certified applicator. 

B. Name and address of the certified applicator or dealer who will use the RUP, if different from above. 
C. The license number of the certified applicator or dealer, the state or other governmental entity that 

issued the certification document, the expiration date of the certification or license, and the categories 
in which the applicator is certified if appropriate. 

D. Produce name and EPA registration number of each pesticide distributed. 
E. The quantity of the pesticide involved in the transaction. 
F. The date of the transaction. 
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